The Coney Island History Project’s exhibition center is located on West 12th Street at the entrance to Deno’s Wonder Wheel Park, a few steps off the Boardwalk. Admission is FREE for One and All! View historic artifacts, photographs, maps, ephemera and films. Share and preserve your Coney Island memories by recording an interview for our Oral History Archive.Take a free souvenir photo with the Cyclops from Spook-A-Rama and an original Steeplechase horse from the legendary ride that gave Steeplechase Park its name. Among the treasures on display is Coney’s oldest surviving artifact: The 1823 wooden Toll House Sign dates back to the days when the toll for a horse and rider to go over Coney Island Creek to “the island” was 5 cents. Our special exhibition for the 2018 season is “Coney Island Creek and the Natural World.”
Stroll through Coney past, present and future with the Coney Island History Project Walking Tour. Our unique tours are based on History Project Director Charles Denson’s award-winning book Coney Island: Lost and Found, interviews from our Oral History Archive, and other primary sources. Please visit our online reservation site to see the tour schedule and purchase advance tickets online.
Founded in 2004, the Coney Island History Project is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization that aims to increase awareness of Coney Island’s legendary and colorful past and to encourage appreciation of the Coney Island neighborhood of today. Our mission is to record, archive and share oral history interviews; provide access to historical artifacts and documentary material through educational exhibits, events and a website; and honor community leaders and amusement pioneers through our Coney Island Hall of Fame. Emphasizing community involvement, we teach young people about local history and develop programs in conjunction with local schools, museums, and other organizations.